Car Seat Program – Learn The Car Seat Laws In Ohio
Child Car Seat Checks
Did you know that 4 out of 5 Child Car Seats are installed incorrectly?
You can have your car seat install checked by a trained professional. We have Certified Child Car Seat Technicians to assist you in installing your safety seats.
Please call 419-774-3542 for an appointment.
Ohio Buckles Buckeyes (OBB)
Ohio’s OBB program provides no-cost child car seats to eligible clients in Richland County. See BELOW for information on the program requirements.
Please call 419-774-3542 with any child car seat questions.
Ohio Buckles Buckeyes Program
Ohio Buckles Buckeyes is a program that provides child safety seats and booster seats to eligible low-income families throughout Ohio. Richland County residents who are eligible can receive a free car seat through Richland Public Health (when seats are available).
- To be eligible for the Ohio Buckles Buckeyes program, you must:
- Be a Richland County resident
- Meet income eligibility guidelines (Must be enrolled in the Richland County WIC program or be WIC eligible)
- Have a vehicle to install the seat in (you do not have to own the vehicle)
- Have, or be the legal guardian of, a child between 6-months old and 4-years old for a convertible car seat or between 5-years old and 8-years old for a high back booster. NOTE: We DO NOT provide infant carrier car seats.
- Complete necessary paperwork and seat overview and assist in installing the proper seat in your vehicle.
- Please contact us at 419-774-3542 for more information.
Richland Public Health: Advocating Road Safety With Ohio’s Car Seat Laws
As public health professionals, we at Richland Public Health make it our mission to create a safer environment for our community, particularly when it comes to traveling with children. One way we achieve this is by providing accurate and up-to-date information on Ohio’s car seat laws.
Ohio car seat laws are designed to ensure the utmost safety of children while on the road. By familiarizing yourself with these regulations, you play an essential role in safeguarding those who matter most. Our expert team at Richland Public Health is here to help navigate these laws and answer any questions you may have.
Richland Public Health: Your Guide to Child Car Safety
Whether you’re a new parent, an expecting parent, or a caregiver, it’s crucial to understand and abide by Ohio’s car seat laws. These necessary safety measures drastically reduce the risk of injuries in case of an accident. At Richland Public Health, we are passionate about raising awareness and providing comprehensive guidance on maintaining child safety within vehicles.
Car Seat Safety Education by Richland Public Health
In our continued commitment to public health, we are proud to offer a range of services that help the residents of Ohio ensure their little ones are appropriately secured while traveling. We provide educational resources on understanding car seat laws in Ohio and how to install and use car seats correctly.
Richland Public Health is here to support you at every stage – we don’t just inform you about Ohio’s car seat laws, we guide you on the journey towards ensuring child safety. Partner with Richland Public Health to ensure you are always updated on car seat safety norms and create a secure travel environment for your family. Together, let’s contribute to a safer and healthier Ohio.
Recommendations For All Ages
- Select a car seat based on your child’s age, height, and weight.
- Keep your child in the proper car seat for as long as possible.
- All children under 13 should ride in the back seat.
- Follow the car seat manufacturer’s instructions and your vehicle owners manual on how to install.
Ohio law requires children to be in boosters seats
Once your child is over 40 pounds and more than a four years old, they must then be in a booster seat until 8 years old or 4′ 9″ tall.
Here’s what the law says:
Children less than 8 years of age, unless they have reached 4’9″ in height:
Secondary Enforcement – Booster Seat Violation
4511.81 (C) Unless reguired by division (A) or (B) to be secured in child restraints, children must be properly secured in accordance with manufacturers’ instructions in booster seats that meet federal motor vehicle safety standards.
|Ohio’s Child Restraint Law
Children who are in either or both categories:
Children who are 8-15 years of age (or younger children who are at least 4′ 9″ tall):
Note: All of the above sections have the following exemptions: Taxicabs, Public Safety Vehicles, Vehicles not equipped with seat belts at the time of manufacture, Chiropractor or physician affidavit of examption, Life-threatening emergencies.
All of the above sections require the driver to be ticketed, not the child.
All of the above sections are MM on a first offense with a minimum fine of $25 and a maximum fine of $75. Second offenses are M4 that have fines to $250 and jail time to 30 days.
If more than one child is not restrained at the time of the the stop, only one citation can be issued. Include all applicable subsections.
|Summary: Ohio Law says children must be in an approved child passenger safety seat until age four and forty pounds. They must then be in a booster until 4′ 9″ tall or 8-years old. Ohio law says All occupants 15 and under must be restrained by a child safety seat, belt positioning booster, or lap and shoulder belts.
Parent & Caregiver Resources
Is Your Child In The Right Seat?
Questions or Comments
We'd love to hear from you. Contact us or take our survey to speak to one of our public health professionals or share your experience with our services. We value your feedback!